Little Chebeague to Jewell Island

Abbie B and me are happy to float away from Little Chebeague Island.  Chandler Cove is quiet, except for the passing of a barge carrying dump trucks.  I saw it this morning on the way out with trucks loaded with dirt.   It is now returning to the mainland to load up for another trip.

Build on an Island Bring it by Boat

Build on an Island
Bring it by Boat

We explore the north end of Long Island before departing the cove for the open sea.  A sea that is relatively calm, bumping us over small swells and little wind.  It’s a Blue Day.

Blue Sky

Blue Sky

Blue Water Day

Blue Water

We keep a course off shore from Great Chebeague Island and then Hope Island before entering Luckes Sound.

I catch a moment of jealousy while watching a couple rounding Great Chebeague Island.   Perhaps, for a night’s stay in the cabin on Crow Island.   I’m jealous of their Greenland Style Paddles.  I don’t want one.  I need one!   I’m used to the paddle I have and handle it well .  But a Greenland Paddle would work far better.   My paddle feels too long and bumps the cockpit combing if I don’t hold it high enough.   I’ve also noted, since Richmond Island, that there is a whole lot more shaft in the water than blade.  The blade of a Greenland Paddle is all that is in the water.  It doesn’t have a shaft!  Next year, Sigh…

The sea is showing some measured force as I cross Luckes Sound.  A ship steams away from the safety of Casco Bay, shrinking in the distance.  Stop gawking and get going, lest we arrive after dark.

All the buildings on Hope Island have red roofs.  Yikes! Someone has poor decorating skills.  Cliff Island appears to be aptly named.  Its shape is unique and is bound by steep rocky ledges.

The tide rises causing the sea to roll a bit.  Abbie B and me approach the southwest side of Jewell Island where two navy observation towers capture my attention.   Maybe I’ll circumnavigate the Island.   It might be interesting to see what the towers and terrain look like from the other side. Wisdom says, “Don’t do it.”   So, I don’t and turn northward to explore the west side of Jewell Island, passing places like Indian Rock, The Old Wharf, People sitting in lawn chairs high above the cliffs and well below where a farmhouse and barn once stood.

The seas become more rough.   Its swells growing in size and strength.   Time to hurry.   No more dawdling.   Quickening my pace, I work hard against wind and current; wanting  to camp where there are less people  (No surprise here).    Punchbowl it is!    Here we go, passing Little Jewell Island.   The protector of Cocktail Cove.    I prefer the original name of Long Cove.   But I also bet that there are some interesting stories behind the  name, Cocktail Cove.

A lone boat sits in safety within the cove as Abbie B and me push away from the headland at the northern end of the island.   It is always a good idea to refrain from being the target of rebounding waves.   There is nothing safe about paddling in growing seas and being hit broadside from two directions.

Water breaks over scattered ledges – lots of them.  So, I set myself up for the one turn that will bring Abbie B into the safety of Surprise Beach.   Glad I didn’t try the circumnavigation.   I’d still be hard at work in some pretty rough water.

Ah, the cove and tranquility.   Crunch!   Abbie B strikes the small exposed rocks as sunset approaches.

Quiet Landing

Quiet Landing

About Just Jude

I grew up on a small farm in Michigan but have always felt the urge to wander and began doing so as a teenager. Since that time, I've hiked, biked and paddled in every season; not for sport, but for the journey.

Posted on January 11, 2015, in Casco Bay, Jewell Island, Maine, Kayaking, Maine Coast, Solo Journeys, Twenty One Days at Sea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

