Finally

I’m finally at rest after two and a half days of listening to wind.  The average mph over time was 33 mph.  However, hours of 40 mph with gusts around 50 to 55 and few blasts beyond 60 mph raged across the fields at my home while the neighbors enjoy the protection of trees or live down the hill.

I checked the internet for a Randolph weather report and laughed as usual, as the conditions are from Gorham or Berlin.  Wind 0 mph and the highest during the roar up here was 12 mph.  I’m sure those snug inside the Mt. Washington Observatory laugh at me.  I checked up on them and saw 93 mph sustained winds.  There’s always the somewhere else that resets my perspective.

We did have a slight reprieve for a few hours on Sunday night.  The clouds fled the sky releasing the moon from their dark firm grasp.  I stepped out the door to have a look and saw its bright light, a perfect white to my imperfect eyes.  I walked back inside to look out a window.  The Elm Tree was back lit by the light of the moon, leaving finger like shadows upon the snow.  It was a remarkable sight because nothing moved.  The tree upon the snow was so still.  This is the picture that fills my head and will do so again and again, every time I find solace after the violence of nature comes to end.

Here are some photos of spindrift that I nearly froze my hands off taking.  For those who know where I live, I saw spindrift flying off Mt. Crescent for the first time ever.  Click on Photo for full screen and description.

I showed this video clip on facebook from a windy day earlier this year.  Try listening to the noise level several days in a row.  (Including the relentless pounding my house took, shudders, creaks and snaps was it cry against the onslaught.)

Finally, some quiet. The photo below is a symbol of the relief and solace I felt when I saw the Elm Tree branches perfectly still.

A Solace Moment during my 12 day winter trek.

A Solace Moment during my 12 day winter trek.

About Just Jude

I grew up on a small farm in Michigan but have always felt the urge to wander and began doing so as a teenager. Since that time, I've hiked, biked and paddled in every season; not for sport, but for the journey.

Posted on February 3, 2015, in Nature, New Hampshire, Photos, Weather, Wind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice to know exactly how fast that wind was blowing. We have a little chart that figures when the whole trunks of the big pine trees are swaying, it’ probably around 35-40 mph. That was definitely happening earlier this week! Also, fingers starting to sting in the couple of seconds it takes with mittens off to start the car in the morning and the squeaking snow say it’s way below 0 with wind chill on top.

    And I figure you get it about 2-3 times as fierce at the top of the hill. Amazing what a couple of hundred feet of elevation make, and no trees to stop the wind. We have a small meadow to the west and south, but not as much open land as the top of the hill there.
    Betsy

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right on the money with your figures and fingers. I lived in the North Dakota for a year and South Dakota for a year and a half. So, I call days like the recent up here Dakota Blows. A few hundred feet and no trees, wow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

