A Very Long Day

It isn’t necessary to read all of the posts for Twenty One Days At Sea to start here.  However, I do recommend catching up by reading this particular day  from the beginning for context.  I would like you to experience what my long and arduous day was like.  Click for Move!   Click for The Search for Water.   Click for Walking, Walking, and Walking.

It feels great to lie beneath the warmth of the sun without the sweltering constraint of paddling clothes.  I am wearing a long sleeve fleece shirt and shorts while all the other stuff is draped over benches or sitting on rocks to dry.  I drink the water that “tastes good too” and it does.  My tired mind and body melts into the hard ground where sleep filters upward until I am no more.

A slack in the breeze and lowering cloud cover awaken me.  There goes my exhausted, drained, and droopy kayaker sunbathing rest.  I find that my mind is a bit muddled and my body is sluggish. More water please!  No problem and a smile.  I’m happy to have pushed myself into making the time to retrieve a full supply of liquid gold.

Daylight diminishes to the tune of stratus clouds casting eerie shadows upon both land and sea, until  both are nearly the same in texture and color or lack thereof.  The weight of the air grows heavy.  The weather is coming.  A few hours later than the original prediction but that’s the nature of forecasting weather, best guess from current available data.

I welcome these circumstances.  My body longs for rest, to be fed, and fully hydrated.  It’s much easier to do so during inclement weather.  I look to the sea, the sky, and the coastline one last time, before retiring within my safe-haven of a tent at the end of this very long day.

IMG_5897

 

 

The pretty blue ocean

under a lovely clear sky

morphs slowly into

hollow shades of gray.

 

 

About Just Jude

I grew up on a small farm in Michigan but have always felt the urge to wander and began doing so as a teenager. Since that time, I've hiked, biked and paddled in every season; not for sport, but for the journey.

Posted on March 6, 2015, in Casco Bay, Jewell Island, Maine, Kayaking, Maine Coast, Solo Journeys, Twenty One Days at Sea and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Martha Sappington

    Hey Jude, Did you ever capture the rain water for drinking? It was such a hard trip to attain the precious little you had.

    Martha

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good question, Martha. No, I didn’t have to. (Although there were a few time when conservation was prudent.) People were very accommodating, especially at the working docks. I have to admit that it was strange to be surrounded by water that wasn’t drinkable.

      Like

Leave a Reply

