A Lovely Morning

Good morning!

Morning View Through Top of Tent Door

Morning View Through Top of Tent Door

The gods of the sun are more powerful than this altocumulus clutter.  Helios the Titan, Apollos of Olympia, and the Roman Sol Invitus will take a half day rest as the weather forecast calls for increasingly cloudy skies with possible rain tonight.  For now, I’m enjoying the pleasure and warmth of their company.

Down the hatch with boring breakfast 365.  Not really, but it seems like it.  Calendar Islands is one of Casco Bay’s nicknames.  The title comes from the fact that early history of the Bay reports that Casco Bay was once referred to as Calendar Islands because there were so many of them.  The first to advocate this name was Colonel Wolfgang William Römer in the early 1700’s.   He said, “There are as many islands as there are days in the year.”  The number is actually between 130 to a little over 200 depending on how many barren rocks are included in the count.  So, I figure that this grapenuts, dried fruit, protein powder with water saturated milk powder has gone on long enough to count as one for each of these many islands.  Yuck!

Author: Geo. H. Walker & Co. Publisher: Geo. H. Walker & Co. Date: 1906 Location: Casco Bay (Me.), Portland (Me.)

Author: Geo. H. Walker & Co.
Publisher: Geo. H. Walker & Co.
Date: 1906
Location: Casco Bay (Me.), Portland (Me.)

My next pleasure is a treat to washing my hair and me.  Great Chebeuge with its abundance of free fresh water is only a few minutes paddle away.  I brought a sliver of Irish Spring brand soap.  It’s aroma makes great deodorant and rub on clothing for a more pleasant smelling body when among people in “civilization.”  I also grap my tiny bottle of shampoo and a bandana for drying.  We all head out the door to where I’ve hung one of the water bladders on the MITA trail post.

Plentiful Water

Plentiful Water

Oh, wow.  That felt good.  Whew. I think I’m now as clean as my clothing.  My clothes are in better shape than me as far as cleanliness is concerned.  In fact, I should get to them now before the sun gods fall into their early day slumber.  I stuff everything into a dry bag and haul it down to the shore.  Here they are drench in salt water to rinse off as much dirt and sweat as possible.  There really isn’t much for dirt, just the residue of salt water and sweat.  I lay everything out on the rocks to dry.  The UV from the sun disinfects them and the rocks allow for drying.

Last year’s practice trip taught me as to why the rocks work better than hanging “stuff” on a line.  The results of my fist time hanging was clothing more wet than when they were hung.  Duh, the sun,wind (even just a breeze) create an atmosphere of water in the air.  Quite a bit of it too.  Hence, why fisherman dry their nets and other items on rocks heated by the sun enough to actually dry their stuff out.  My clothing and gear dry quite well too but they need to be turned over a fiew times to expedite the process.

Wetsuity drying

Drying Stuff

And then, there are my boots.  It doesn’t matter how many times they are rinsed out.  They are not UV clean, are always damp, and something is brewing in them.  Not sure what, but its kind of scary.  They’re new and I didn’t think to do what i did last year.  Get a pair that my feet fit in with neoprene socks on them.  The socks clean up as well as any other item and create a barrier that keeps the boots a more safe environment for my feet.

 

IMG_6040 copy

 

 

 

I purshased high cut ones to provide maximum support for my injured knee.

Normally, I wouldn’t wear something that tall and stiff.  These were a bugger to take off.  The fight to remove them is a daily ritual.

About Just Jude

I grew up on a small farm in Michigan but have always felt the urge to wander and began doing so as a teenager. Since that time, I've hiked, biked and paddled in every season; not for sport, but for the journey.

Posted on April 9, 2015, in Bangs island, Casco Bay, History, Kayaking, Maine Coast, Solo Journeys, Twenty One Days at Sea and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Maybe the boots will evolve new kinds of organisms! 🙂 They look like they’d be tough to get off!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I throught the extra width provided when the zipper is down would help with that. NOT! More on what evolves inside the boots much later. Horror movie in the making.

      Like

Leave a Reply

